Summer Wrap: Brunch @ The Pickled Fig, South Fremantle

Summer Wrap is a series of my highlights and favourites from summer. A collection of eating,drinking and dining that captures the sunny warm weather of a Perth summer to a T. For those still wanting to dine somewhere that embraces the outdoors and the beach in Fremantle than Pickled Fig is the place to do so! I recently was at the Pickled Fig to have brunch with my gran.

On my last morning in Perth I organised to have brunch with my Gran. We had arranged to pick somewhere in Fremantle but would decide that morning when we knew what we felt like having. That morning my gran asked if we could go to The Pickled Fig as she had wanted to see what it was like. I quickly agreed to go as I have been to the picked fig many times but only once for their breakfast menu and wanted to try it out again.

We arrived around 9:30am on a Friday morning and found the place to be about half full. We were quickly met, seated and present with menus to look at. There was only one or two staff on the floor that morning and they seemed to be quite busy with the place half full, as it took a little while for them to return to take our orders, we were not bothered by this as we had plenty to talk about.

We were seated in the tables on the opposite side of the restaurant to the windows with the long bench and the funky patterned chairs. The booth seating was nice and comfy, though the fabric on the chairs showed signs of significant use either through the fabric being worn or torn and needing to be replaced.

I ordered a Fruit Fetish Juice consisting of orange, passionfruit, pineapple ($8.50), a Red Espresso Latte ($4.50) and the Eggs Benedict with ham ($16) for my breakfast. The juice arrived first and was nice and refreshing, and it made the wait for my food pass quickly. The Latte arrived just before my meal and was the perfect drinking temperature by the time my eggs came out of the kitchen. The eggs were deceptive in that the meal did not look very big and I was worried if it would fill me up as I had a busy day of last minute errands before I got on the plane that night. I need not have worried, as in the end it was just the right sized portion.

Towards the end of our meal the restaurant was getting a little stuffy from the warm weather that day. The staff however was already on to this as they opened up the bi-fold windows to get a breeze going through the dining area and made it a very enjoyable place to be.

Again I enjoyed the food at The Pickled Fig, as did my Gran. I will certainly be returning to The Pickled Fig when I am back in Perth.

The Pickled Fig Cafe on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

