Post Swim Lunch @ Salt on the Beach, North Fremantle

On Christmas Eve last year I went to Port Beach for a mid-morning swim and walk with my friend Miss S before I had to head into work. After we had been for our walk and swim we wandered past Salt on the Beach and decided to pop in for lunch. We ordered our food at the bar and took and outside table, at lunchtime on Christmas Eve and the place was empty save for an elderly couple. While we waited for our meals to come out we sat and enjoyed the view.

IMG_3518

I ordered the fish and chips as well as a lychee cocktail. I really enjoyed the cocktail as it was very refreshing for the warmish summer weather we were having around Christmas in Perth. I really enjoyed the fish in the fish and chips and would dare to say it has been the best I can remember having! The flavour was not overly fishy but just right, the texture was firm in that the pieces did not fall apart the moment you touched them and the batter was delicious but not overly oily. The chips were nice, nothing to rave home about but they paled in comparison to the highlight that the battered fish was in this dish. The only disappointment I had with the meal was that I found a live creepy crawly in the salad when I was halfway through eating it. I chose not to notify the staff when they collected our plates as I had eaten enough of the dish by that point to be satisfactorily full.

Overall it was a nice to walk right off the beach and enjoy a meal while we dried off. The staff were attentive when we needed assistance, otherwise they remained at the bar as the outside area seemed self-service for water and cutlery. I would happily return for another meal and a few drinks, I will however be a little more attentive to any side salads that accompany my dishes to make sure they have been washed properly.

Salt on the Beach on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

