Birthday Lunch @ Taste and Graze, Mandurah

This past year has been a very hectic one with little time to stop and breathe. So when my birthday rolled around a few months ago I decided I wanted to go somewhere quiet and intimate for a meal with the family. Mandurah was a convenient location for people that weekend which led to me selecting Taste and Graze.

IMG_3057

I was one of the first to arrive and ordered a cocktail for while I waited. This cocktail consisted of pineapple juice, cointreau, vanilla galliano and from memory a dash of grenadine. It was a nice cocktail and I  enjoyed it.

IMG_3054

Food:

I only managed to snap a few pictures of the meals as many of us ended up ordering the same dish as well as it being hard to get a shot of everyone’s meals. The salmon was ordered by quite a few at the table, including myself. Overall I could not fault the salmon, what I was disappointed by was the small size of the dish and it’s lack of ability to fill me up. I felt that this dish needed more vegetables or a side to go with it and this comment was echoed by many others at the table. If we had known the portion sizes would be like this we could have ordered more, however the prices of the dishes did make us not feel that we had received the most satisfying meal that day. The burger on the other hand was a standout and those who ordered the burger felt well fed by the end of the meal.

Due to many of us still feeling quite hungry by the end of the mains we opted to get some deserts to share. We ordered a few plates of the sticky date pudding and lemon meringue pie. The deserts were nice but after the mains they again did not impress me greatly. I was also dissapointed when I asked about how many cups of tea the $6 tea made I was told in a rude tone from the waiter that it made only one, I passed on this and overall it left a sour taste in my mouth.

 

The atmosphere of the restaurant was nice overall. The waitstaff were a little short with some customers in the restaurant at the time when I scanned around the room. Overall I am not in a rush to return to Taste and Graze for while they had some nice dishes, their serving sizes and staff do not do enough to tempt me away from the numerous small cafes in Fremantle that I still want to try.

Taste & Graze Cafe & Restaurant on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

