Wine(s) of the Week: University (week 8)

Hi everyone,

I caught up with some friends to farewell one who is leaving back to Norway. We went to a regular haunt of ours – Little Creatures in Fremantle for a meal. With my meal I decided to have a glass of the Bellarmine 2011 Riesling from Pemberton. It was an ok Riesling for me, with its zesty, fresh, vibrant and a clean mineral finish on the palate however I would have loved to see more stone fruits on the nose and palate as I love and cannot resist a Riesling with apple flavours.

IMG_1835

The other wine I tried this past week was a new red wine at work from Portugal called ‘Lab’. I was also drawn to this wine as it had two new grape varietals for me (Castelão and Touriga Nacional) in it along with Shiraz and Tempranillo (Tinta Roriz). At only $10 a bottle I was prepared to give it a go, and even if it wasn’t that great I would be two grapes closer to my 100 needed for the Wine Century Challenge.

IMG_1836

I was actually pleasantly surprised with the wine. I used my Vinturi to really open up the wine and besides it being a a little more sharp than smooth at the start before mellowing out towards the back of the palate. This wine is punching well above it’s price bracket and one that I would happily recommend!

IMG_1837

My last ‘drink’ for the week was some tea from T2. I was given a gorgeous tea cup by a friend as a graduation gift and figured it was only fitting to whip out the fancy teas again to test out the cup. I have retried the English Breakfast which I tried many weeks ago and still love as a hearty tea to start my morning.

IMG_1847

T2 English Breakfast.

I also decided to give Earl Grey tea another go after having been turned off it when I over brewed it a few too many times while backpacking Europe. I  must say it was much better than I remembered and quite a relaxing cup of tea over the weekend.

IMG_1845

Until next time!

2 thoughts on “Wine(s) of the Week: University (week 8)

  1. Pingback: Monthly Review: March | GourmetVicariously

  2. Pingback: Wine(s) of the Week: Back at the books again… with a slight detour… | GourmetVicariously

Leave a Reply

