February Favourites

Hi everyone,

1. Favourite wine of the month?

Sorrenberg, 2010, Gamay, Victoria, Australia. Review of the wine can be found here. This is the bottle of wine which was suggested for our meal at Perth Print Hall by the Sommelier. A luscious wine filled with cherries on the nose and palate, I am still keeping an eye out for a bottle of this wine as it was delightful! I am still on the hunt for a bottle or two of the 2010 vintage so do share if you find some please!

Sorrenberg-Gamay-generic

King River, 2011, Saperavi, King Valley, Australia (RRP $55) – 14.4%

For such a plain looking label this wine really impressed me with it’s bouquet. I could have quite happily spent the entire night with this wine watching how the nose of the wine evolved as it aired out. This wine was  limited release which I had the chance to try at the second meet for the Wine Century Challenge. I ended up purchasing a bottle as there was limited supply left from this inaugural vintage.

IMG_1800

2. What has been the best value wine of the month?

Massena, 2010, Tannat, Barossa Valley, Australia (RRP $28) – 14.5%

This is a wine I tried when I met up with some fellow wine lovers and bloggers for a Wine Century Challenge Meet. This is the wine that on the night I felt was the best vallue for money when we were discussing all the wines at the end. This wine I felt had a nice body and mouth feel of a much more expensive wine. This wine would be perfect once we’re into some cooler weather with a nice roast.

3. What has been added to my to-try wine list?

a younger vintage of the Arneis by First Drop. I had the chance to try the 2010 vintage at the Wine Century Meet. I was impressed with the wine’s structure however I felt that the wine’s age had brought it down. I would love to see how a younger vintage of this wine performs and if it meets the expectations I now have for it since trying the 2010 vintage.

IMG_1805

4. What restaurants do I want to return to?

BF and I went to George Street Bistro during the past month (I haven’t had the chance to upload the post as of yet). The meal was hearty and filling for that one weekend this past month were we received a welcomed cold snap in Perth along with some welcomed rain. BF had a Seared Sirloin Steak while I had the ‘Pie of the Day’ which was Chicken in a tomato based sauce.

IMG_1809

5. What was my favourite meal this month?

Desert at Perth Print Hall, it was to die for!

Bittersweet Chocolate Fondant ($16).

Bittersweet Chocolate Fondant ($16).

Lemon 'Spilled' ($16).

Lemon ‘Spilled’ ($16).

6. Upcoming events for next month?

Eat Drink Perth

7. Favourite wine packaging?

Claymore, 2011, ‘Joshua Tree’ Riesling, Clare Valley, Australia.

Simple packaging which drew BF in to select it and overall it was a delicious Riesling. Review of the wine can be found here.

IMG_1712

8. Best service?

Perth Print Hall – review can be found here. The service was professional, quick and reflected the developments in Perth’s fine dining restaurants.

9. Restaurant I am most keen to try next month?

Bad Apples Wine Bar in Applecross is a place I have been trying to get to for the past month or so to check out their wine selection.

cbebf3f0c5696507f0ad53960ef9f651

10. Wine Century Challenge.

Total: 35 varietals.

Favourite = Arneis (white) and Saperavi (red).

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

