Wine(s) of the Week: University (week 5)

Hi everyone,

For Valentine’s Day I ended up leaving First Choice with a new red wine varietal from Sicily for myself along with some beer for BF. The grape varietal I ended up selecting 2011 Nero D’Avola from Feudo Arancio. I had no prior knowledge of the wine and ended up selecting it as I did not recognise the varietal and the fact that it came from Sicily intrigued me. This wine was quite a treat for me also as it was my first non-sparkling wine that used a cork rather than a screw-cap that I had bought in Australia. Once I had reacquainted myself with the bottle opener and a bit of muscle from BF I set about trying this new varietal. On first sips the wine had a lot of fruit flavour and some oak with a medium body. After breathing for a few minutes the wine opened up in spiciness and body and really impressed me overall.

IMG_1747

I caught up with some girlfriends from school at Perth Print Hall’s Fine Dining Restaurant. One of my friends had previously been to the restaurant and said I would enjoy their wine list, she was not wrong in that statement. I was seriously impressed with their wine list and cellar however the standout of the night was the sommelier who recommended a delightful bottle of wine for us. From our request of a medium bodied red wine with cherry flavours and some oak he recommended the 2010 Sorrenberg Gamay ($95 at the restaurant). For all the wine lovers in Perth this place is a must for the experience of trying something new as the range of wines they stock is extensive and impressive to say the least. The wine from the first sniff to the last sip had enough body to keep me (a medium to full bodied red wine lover) content to my friend who enjoys her lighter bodied red wines and my other dining companion who wasn’t all that bothered. The fruit flavour was filled with luscious cherries, with enough tannins at the end of the palate to pair with our meals. I will have to get my hands on a few bottles of this for sure! If anyone has seen it in a bottle shop in Perth do let me know!

Sorrenberg-Gamay-generic

My last wine for the week was one which was had with a barbecue lunch with some old family friends. They brought over a bottle of Vasse Felix Classic Dry White. This wine was well balanced between the juicy apple and citrus flavours in the wine and the zesty to dry refreshing finish. Vasse Felix has consistently impressed me every time I have tried it and this time was no different.

IMG_1746

Until next time!

6 thoughts on “Wine(s) of the Week: University (week 5)

  1. I would like to buy some wine in Perth to ship brought in Belgium. Do you have any recommendation? We prefer red and don’t like to much oak flavors. Thanks Violaine

  2. Pingback: Print Hall Fine Dining, Perth CBD | GourmetVicariously

  3. Pingback: February Favourites | GourmetVicariously

Leave a Reply

