Wine(s) of the Week: University (week 3)

Hi everyone,

I have settled in a little more with my university schedule and managed to sneak in quite a few different wines over the course of this past week.

La Battistina, 2011, ‘Gavi’, Piedmont, Italy ($9.50 a glass at Lamont’s in Cottesloe).

This wine was more minerality than fruit driven on the palate. My first time trying this wine varietal. Not a bad white wine but perhaps not a varietal I would go back to as I felt there wasn’t much going on in the glass as I would have liked, especially in regards to fruit driven flavours.

Tyrell’s Winery, Old Winery Semillon, Hunter Valley.

I had a small glass of this with dinner during the week. I haven’t every had a proper glass of Semillon before and it was serious on the citrus flavours making me think immediately of BF who had a sip and liked it. The finish was crisp but refreshing, but not enough to win me over from Rieslings or the Semillon being blended with Sauvignon Blanc to round out the citrus flavours in the wine. This is a wine varietal I would love to revisit in a few months after I have tried a few more new white varietals and expanded my palate.

Monkey Bay, 2011, Chardonnay, Gisborne, New Zealand.

Went out to dinner on Friday night with a girlfriend and we ended up picking a bottle. I ended up going for a Chardonnay and selected Monkey Bay off the list as I was hoping for an oaked Chardonnay, however the label did not disclose if it was oaked or unoaked. Having a quick sample the wine was deemed quite pleasant and turned out to be unoaked. Creamy and fleshy fruits on the palate went well with our rich pasta and risotto dishes along with a very long and pleasant Friday evening chat.

IMG_1680

Kumkani, 2010, Pinotage, Stellenbosch, South Africa.

I finally got around to chilling this bottle of wine which had been given to me as a gift. I had it chilling in the fridge while I was at work as the weather in Perth over this weekend has been quite hot. The wine at first seemed quite young and a little unbalanced, however as it warmed up it developed into a wine I quite enjoyed. It feels quite warm on the palate, earthy, spiciness on top of a fruit base in the wine. Big fan and will have to keep an eye out for this varietal in the future.

IMG_1684

Hope everyone has had a pleasant weekend! Have a wonderful week and hope you have the chance to try a new bottle of two of wine across it!

Until next time!

One thought on “Wine(s) of the Week: University (week 3)

  1. Hi,
    Just a quick note regarding Gavi: the grape variety it is made of is Cortese. You are right in that there are not many quality Gavi producers, but some produce outstanding wines. Check out La Scolca, Bergaglio, Giustiniana and Villa Sparina if you come across them: they are all excellent choices.
    As it usually happens, the quality of what you get in your glass depends to a great extent on the quality of the producer 😉
    Cheers

Leave a Reply

