Wine(s) of the Week: Summer Break (week 3)

Hi everyone,

The review of my last Wine Essential Class and reviews of the wine’s I tried there can be found at this blog post for those of you who missed it. This class was spent comparing two different wines with each course of the meal and comparing and contrasting how different wines paired differently with the meals. This is something that I would love to continue at home to see how my palate deals with and prefers food and wine combinations.

000039

Crush Rose.

Mum was given a bottle of Barwick Estate’s Crush Rose which we opened with dinner one night this past week. The wine had berries and cream on the nose and a slight sweetness on the palate. It was a delicious wine! Tasting notes for the wine can be found here. This is a wine I would happily drink again and a big thanks to the family friends who gave it to mum!

Sitella Sparkling Pinot Chardonnay.

Sittella’s Sparkling Pinot Chardonnay.

To welcome the overseas family to Perth we began the night with Sittella’s Sparkling Pinot Chardonnay. This was not a bad drop, definitely one to make me curious to try the rest of their range.

Kerrigan & Berry Cabernet Sauvignon decanting.

Kerrigan & Berry Cabernet Sauvignon decanting.

Along with the bubbly I also dove into my small collection of Margaret River red wines, the family was given the choice of a 2007 Leeuwin Estate Arts Series Cabernet Sauvignon or a 2008 Kerrigan and Berry Cabernet Sauvignon. The Kerrigan and Berry was selected and was then decanted into my recently acquired decanter which BF spoilt me with for my birthday. The Cabernet Sauvignon spent roughly 2 hours in the decanter and what came out was a smooth and fruity but still young wine. Tasting note for the 2009 vintage can be found here, while it is the wrong vintage you can get an idea of what the winemakers were looking for.

Kerrigan & Berry Cabernet Sauvignon.

Kerrigan & Berry Cabernet Sauvignon.

Last new wine try of the week was Leaping Lizard‘s Semillon Sauvignon Blanc. This wine surprised me as I was expecting quite a mellow SSB but instead this wine packed a punch on the palate as if you had just bitten into a ripe lychee. Not a bad wine, and I personally think this one would go perfectly with seafood over the summer months! Tasting notes for the 2009 vintage (I tried a much more recent vintage) can be found here.

ssb030

Leaping Lizard Semillon Sauvignon Blanc.

I will be in the Swan Valley today with the family so expect to see a review of my wine and food discoveries next week! Hope you all have a wonderful Sunday and enjoy what is left of your weekend!

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

