Wine(s) of the Week: Bring on Summer

First up is a bottle of wine that I opened as dad needed a red wine for the pasta sauce, a 2011 Cabernet Sauvignon from Casillero del Diabelo (Chile). Otherwise I would have loved to have given this wine a little longer in the bottle as 2011 is much too young for a red and it showed when I tasted the wine, even after using the Vinturi and allowing it some time in the glass there was a definite lack of body, and it was unbalanced, lacking tannins and the alcohol and acid were a little high. This wine will only be found in Coles Liquor outlets and retails for ~$15 a bottle. Personally if it is this young then let it age on the shelf (or in your cellar if you have one) a few years before picking up a bottle.

Casillero del Diabelo Cabernet Sauvignon.

I also went to the Rose Revolution (Facebook page here) this past week, which encourages people to try dry Rose this summer. Had some fabulous wine, and some that smelt divine but on the palate were lacking in fruit flavour and depth and were quite disappointing. The top 3 overall wines that I tried along with my favourite packaging are shown below. Full review of the event will be up on the blog next week!

Top 3 Wines from Rose Revolution.

My top 3 Rose’s were (in no particular order):

a) Deep Wood 2012 Rose from Margaret River, which was a blend of 35% Tempranillo, 30% Shiraz, 20% Merlot and 15% Cabernet. A pleasant drop and hopefully one that will make it into Liquorland soon as the red and white from this line are presently in some stores. Tasting notes can be found here.

b) Dandelion Vineyard 2011 Rose from the Barossa, which is 100% Grenache which has spent some time in French Oak. I am quite the fan of Grenache so it was a nice one to stumble across! Tasting notes can be found here. I am not sure where in Perth this wine is stocked but if anyone does see it please let me know!

c) Dal Zotto 2012 Rosato from the King Valley, does not list what grape varietals it is made up of. This wine was highly recommended to some of the people who I spoke to at the Rose Revolution event and I have to say it was a pleasant drop! Again I am unsure as to where you can find this wine in Perth but do share if you see it!

The Abstainer Rose, part of the Ministry Series.

Back label for The Abstainer Rose.

The 2011 Abstainer, produced by Capital Wines in the Canberra District; has a cheeky label which caught my eye and I would have to say that the wine was not bad either, and may have been top 3 material for me but it’s label made it deserving of a special mention all of its own. This wine is made from a combination of Cabernet Franc and Merlot. Like I’ve said for most of the wines tonight, I do not know where you can find this wine in Perth but do let me know if you see it!

I also tasted some wines this week while at my Wine Education Centre course and reviewed them in my blog entry on the course which can be found here.

I also popped open a bottle of Cave de Lugny’s Crémant de Bourgogne to celebrate what I hope is the end of my undergraduate degree! I am quite pleased with this wine, especially at ~$20 for a French (note: from Burgundy not Champagne) bubbly. A full review of this wine will be up with the Restaurant review.

Cave de Lugny’s Crémant de Bourgogne.

Happy Drinking everyone! Hope you had a good past week and weekend! Best of luck to those who still have exams to sit, I am fortunate enough to be free from the constraints of university to expect many more posts on wines as I revel in the start of my summer vacation!

Until next time!

One thought on “Wine(s) of the Week: Bring on Summer

  1. Pingback: Rose Revolution « GourmetVicariously

Leave a Reply

