Halliday Day: Week 5 – Sticks Yarra Valley

Hi everyone,

So this post will be a bit of a departure from my usual Western Australian focus. I will be in Melbourne for 5 days in January next year and as my uni assignments and exams are coming to a close I am finally allowed to start researching wineries I would like to visit. Top of the List is the Yarra Valley region and having browsed the shelves at work I stumbled upon Sticks, with their popular Pinot Noir.

Sticks Winery’s Logo.

Sticks Winery is rated by James Halliday as a 5 star winery in the 2012 Australian Wine Companion. Many of the vines at Sticks Winery were planted in 1983, while sticks was established in 2000. Sticks also sources grapes from growers in the region to supplement their production levels. Travis Bush is the head winemaker for Sticks wants the wines he oversees to show the depth and regional expression of the cool climate of the Yarra Valley.

You can find their Yarra Valley Pinot Noir and Chardonnay in Liquorland’s around Australia, however I am looking forward to trying their no. 29 Vineyard Select Pinot Noir and Cabernet Sauvignon when I’m in the Yarra Valley!

If anyone has near to Melbourne winery or other Melbourne related sights to see suggestions feel free to tweet, Facebook or comment below to let me know about them!

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

