Subiaco Lunchings and Family Dinners

Yesterday I finally caught up with a friend for our ‘Subiaco lunchings’. We began with japanese for lunch at Edo, which has been our regular lunch destination for over a year and a half. We’ve always had friendly and quick service at Edo and for the price you pay ($6.90 for a bowl of rice and katsu chicken aka ‘a katsu chicken donburi’) you leave happy and stuffed! The interior of Edo is nothing special, numerous small tables crowded together, while the counter space (pictured below) tends to remind me a little of a deli with bits and pieces every where. But I feel that this lack of emphasis on the interior adds to the charm of the place as a little hidden gem, from the lunchtime rush that this place receives you know it is well patronised but its still remains a gem for me on for a lazy lunch before or after the lunch rush.

Image

This trip to Edo was quite out of the ordinary however as there was some confusion and out order was lost, we didn’t mind greatly as we had plenty of stories to share and things to catch up on. Unfortunately due to our meals taking quite a bit longer than usual (normally our meals are out to us in minutes) we were halfway through devouring them before I remembered that I would try to take pictures first for you guys… Sorry! The meals lived up to their usual scrumptiousness – the extra mayo in the bowls was also an added plus!

The second phase to our Subiaco lunches involves desert for which we have a few options deepening on whether we want cake, ice-cream or churros. Yesterday we decided to grab ice-cream as we had to walk and pick up a few items also as parking is not the cheapest in Subiaco. I did remember to take photos of the ice-creams for you guys so savour away!

Ice-creams!

The strawberry waffle cone was my friends and she let me know that the ice-cream’s flavour was quite mild but that there were real chunks of strawberries in it. Mine on the other hand had no nutritional redeeming qualities about it with caramel chocolate fudge on the top and chocolate chip cookie dough hidden below – I was told by a colleague at work that it was insane that I had not tried cookie dough ice-cream before so with this in mind I decided to try it yesterday. The cookie dough ice-cream was pretty stock standard – the little balls of cookie dough in it however were little pockets of joy that I discovered towards the end and it definitely redeemed the ice-cream in my eyes! The caramel chocolate fudge however was the standout winner for me. I must admit that I was polarised when reviewing the ice-creams as caramel is a slight weakness for me (Fantails anyone?!).

After my little eating and retail therapy (shoes as 25% of their original cost- win!) adventure in Subiaco I then  went to BF’s house for a family dinner. To begin to whittle away my little wine stash at home I took over one of the wines I had picked up at the start of the year form Hay Shed Hill Winery in the Margaret River region.

Wine.

The Tempranillo had a spicy aroma however it was quite a light drink. Would have been nice to have had my nice aerator on me to give it some body, but unfortunately that was at home. It is definitely a good wine for me as a lover of red wine to rediscover with the coming summer months. Will let you know how it goes once I get to try it with an aerator.

Until next time!

Edo Japanese BBQ on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

