Welcome

Hello and Welcome!

I have been wanting to dabble into the online medium of blogging and have been wondering what would inspire me to finally jump in and commit to writing on a some-what regular basis. Well inspiration finally arrived over the last week two different people told me that I should share with the world all the thing I eat and drink as I seem to spend half of my meal with someone telling them all about my meal and then proceeding to try/eat half of their meal if they’re foolish enough to allow me the first taste of their meal.

The first entry in this little food adventure will begin at Blend Cafe in Melville on a night out with my boyfriend (BF). A quite busy little restaurant (for a mid-week night) which has an eclectic and alternative decor going on with friendly staff and numerous regular patrons being greeted warmly by the staff and owner throughout our dining experience.

The night began with me running next door to pick out a nice bottle of wine for us to share and as BF only drinks whites (excluding chardonnay) I was restricted to that section of the store. A few minutes later I exited with a nice Sauvignon Blanc Semillon (SBS) ($16.99) from the ‘Jamie & Charlie’ line from the Willoughby Park Winery located in Southwestern Western Australia. I must confess that I picked due to the label design seen in the picture below.

Image

Wine Bottle’s Label.

Second confession for this post, Sauvinon Blancs (Sav Blanc) and SBS’s are not my favourite. When it comes to wine for me a good Cabernet Sauvignon (Cab Sav) with body, berries and a hint of oak is what I tend to gravitate towards. So due to white wines being a bit of a weakness please forgive me for any faux pas I may make to those who know their whites a little better than I do.

The SBS was a 2011 vintage, as described by me on the night as making me feel that I was “standing between a freshly mowed paddock and an orchard” due to the fresh grassy, citrus and a hint of stone fruit scent that was perfectly complemented by its refreshing taste. I was impressed! My label section had done me well! I will also note the BF was also impressed with my wine selection that suited our pasta’s that we chose off the menu for dinner.

Dinner at Blend consisted of garlic bread for a starter – fresh toasted bread with a nice amount of garlic, enough to taste and savour but not too much to leave you with horrid garlic breath. Our mains for the night was the Pasta Special for BF (homemade pasta with prawns, chorizo, and a chilli tomato sauce), while I had the Triangoli (pumpkin and ricotta triangular pasta parcels in a chilli Neapolitan sauce with spinach and walnuts). BF’s pasta was zingy, delicious and a good serving, while mine was nicely balanced between the flavours but felt that the chilli was non-existent and the servings a little on the small side for being $20+ mains. Due to not feeling full from the mains I then ordered a slice of Apple Pie, which came with a serving of ice-cream to finish my appetite off. The apple pie was a bit disappointing like my meal had been, too much dough and not enough apple flavouring coming through for my liking, however the presentation was cute.

Overall The stars of the night were BFs pasta, the wine and the service at Blend. Also we have decided to return to try the pizza’s on the menu which look and sound to die for! So I will inform you of those when we do. I will try and remember to take a quick snapshot of my meals from now on before I devour them so that I can share those with you also. Let me know you’re experiences if you have tried this wine before or dined at Blend Cafe. Until next time!

Blend Cafe on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Welcome

  1. Pingback: Pizza from Blend Cafe, Melville « GourmetVicariously

  2. Pingback: Rose Revolution « GourmetVicariously

Leave a Reply

