Public Holiday Lazy Lunch @ Pickled Fig, South Fremantle

A few months ago we had a long weekend in Perth and I ended up having a lazy lunch with a friend at the Pickled Fig in South Fremantle that weekend. When I arrived at the Picked Fig I ordered a cocktail, the Earl’s Punch  (earl grey tea, brandy, lemon juice). While sipping away at the cocktail I selected the conchiglioni for my main (pasta shells stuffed with chicken, pumpkin and brie with a smoked ham and fennel broth). The friend I was having lunch with ordered the burger for their main (grilled beef pattie topped with bacon, swiss cheese, rocket and roasted capsicum served with a side of wedges and aioli). The burger got a big thumbs up from my friend. I too enjoyed my dish but found it did not completely fill me up. Due to being still peckish after finishing the conchiglioni I ended up helping my friend out with their wedges as they found the burger to be quite filling.

After nibbling on a few wedges from the burger I decided to look over the desert menu. After a quick look at the menu I saw a dish that intrigued me – ooey gooey (served with coconut parfait and tea-scented cherries). I really enjoyed this dish, the different flavours worked very well together! To go with my desert I noticed a drink on their menu called Red espresso. I asked the waitress what it was and she explained it as a rooibos based caffine-free drink, flavoured with cinnamon and honey. I was sold and ordered myself a latte. I really enjoyed the red espresso and found out that I could purchase red espresso to brew at home at a shop in South Fremantle called The Little Concept.

Overall it was another delicious meal at The Pickled Fig. Christine who was our waitress on this day was also fantastic at dealing with us as well as all the other customers on this busy weekend. I will be back for sure!

The Pickled Fig Cafe on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Public Holiday Lazy Lunch @ Pickled Fig, South Fremantle

  1. Pingback: Brunch @ The Little Concept, Fremantle | GourmetVicariously

Leave a Reply

