First Vegan Meal – Heavenly Plate, Melville

Hi everyone,

I went out to dinner to a restaurant, which my vegan friend had selected. She chose heavenly plate and while I knew it was vegan I was a little caught out by seeing chicken and other meats on the menu. I started the meal by ordering a cup of tea (pictured below), they had quite a selection of teas and I ended up selecting the White Orchard tea. My review of the tea can be found in this blog post. My other friends ordered a smoothie and another tea, both of  which were nice and had the weather been a little warmer I would have definitely gone with a smoothie.

White Orchard.

White Orchard Tea.

Entrees

We ordered 2 entrees to share. 1 from their specials menu and the other off the main menu. Both were very nice. The second pictured entree was the favourite however of the group.

IMG_2450

Bags of Treasure.

IMG_2449

Entree off the ‘Special Menu’.

Mains

IMG_2448

Triple C with Salad.

The Triple C with Salad was my selection off the menu described as ‘Marinated Chicken with coke and deep fried in flour‘ making me order it out of sheer curiosity as to what deep fried chicken which had been marinated in coke tasted like. I have to say I ended up quite liking this dish and found that the coke could not be tasted in the batter.

IMG_2447

Satay

My friend M ordered the Satay which is a favourite of hers. She devoured it quickly and enjoyed it as it is her usual order when she comes here.

IMG_2446

Lasagne.

Lastly, my other friend L ordered the Lasagne off the ‘Specials Menu’ of the night. We were all quite amused at the inclusion of corn chips on her plate, however L still enjoyed the lasagne, especially as it used soy cheese which she was allowed to eat.

Deserts

I had been forewarned about the deserts at Heavenly Plate and made sure to leave plenty of room for it. From eyeing off the desert cabinet while we had our meal I was not to be disappointed.

IMG_2445

Apple Cake.

M ordered the last slice of the Apple Cake which she had raved about for the entire meal. I managed to get a bite and would have to agree with her on it being very delicious. I will be having a slice of this in the future!

IMG_2443

Passionfruit Cheesecake with Apple Sorbet.

This was the desert I ordered. The flavours in the cheesecake and the sorbet worked extremely well together and I would highly recommend this desert!

My friend L ordered the Tiramisu, however I was not quick enough to get a picture before she started. L polished off the tiramisu and gave it a big thumbs up.

Until next time!

Heavenly Plate Cafe on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

