A night of Firsts – Dinner at Fuku, Mosman Park.

Hi everyone,

I was invited earlier this year to dine at Fuku as their guest. I should also note here that I do not eat a lot of seafood so my views of the meal were skewed by this however my dining companion S is a lover of sashimi and teppanyaki and overall loved the meal.

IMG_2710

Saki

IMG_2709

I had never tried Saki before and when offered some I quickly accepted. The first saki was a chilled one. I did not know what to expect when trying the saki, however I quite enjoyed the Saki. The second saki came slightly warm in the smaller clay glass and had a very different mouthfeel to the other Saki. For a first impression of Saki, I really enjoyed it and look forward to trying more in the future!

1st Course: Calamari with Herring Roe and Antarctic Ice Crab

IMG_2708

I was quite interested by all the different textures and flavours in this dish. While I was exploring this dish S quickly polished this dish off enjoying it. The seaweed crisps were the highlight for me as I found them very easy to snack on and would make for the perfect studying snack.

2nd Course: Smoked Wagyu, Oyster Tempura, Burdock and School prawn Kakiage.

IMG_2712

The Wagyu in this dish was outstanding! I thoroughly enjoyed it. The oyster was a first and an interesting experience, however I must admit it was not as bad as I had expected, though I think it will take many more tries of oysters before I will become a fan of them.

3rd Course: Sashimi

IMG_2715

Another first and I was in awe of how different the textures of sashimi is compared with smoked and cooked fish. The fish presented on the dish was fresh and delicious and S and I were both impressed. My fist try of sashimi was a good experience and while it will take a few more tries to get used to it I am definitely keen to give sashimi another go.

4th Course: Partridge

IMG_2725

A well flavoured dish that just melted in my mouth! The mushroom in this dish were not your usual mushrooms and their texture and taste were quite different however they worked well to tie this simple dish together.

5th Course: Scollop, prawn & crispy prawn head

IMG_2723

I watched this dish being cooked in layer upon layer of butter and my mouth was watering by the time it was plated up and placed in front of me. On my first bite I was quite impressed with how the butter have a rich flavour to the prawn. S was a big fan of the crispy head of the prawn in this dish.

6th Course: Fish of the day

IMG_2724

I was a little off put by the baby octopus in this dish, however S was most enthralled by it. The zingy citrus sauce in this dish comes from a Japanese fruit and was quite an unusual taste. This sauce added a who new dimension to the dish.

7th Course: Wagyu (full blood) sirloin steak Mayura Station grade 9+, Friend rice with wagyu flavour.

IMG_2717

IMG_2716

The waygu in this dish was exceptional! I devoured it quickly and wish there had been more it was tender, juicy and perfectly cooked. Simple flavours, which were well cooked and melted in my mouth. Also the chefs did an exceptional job of cooking this dish including flaming stacks of onion rings and cracking eggs by flipping them into the air and using their spatulas.

8th Course: Yuzu Cheesecake, Chocolate drink and Mountain Peach.

IMG_2718

Lastly came desert. The wasabi cream has a lovely zing to it and the dish as a whole just hit the spot to end the meal. A well arranged dish with a number of unusual and interesting flavours that were brought together so nicely.

Overall I really enjoyed the experience and highly recommend it to anyone who loves Japanese food or is interested in going to an intimate restaurant or for those who have always wanted to see their meal cooked for them. The 3 hours for the meal past in no time as we watched our food being cooked and prepared before our eyes and then eating it while the next course was prepared. The presentation and execution was exceptional. The chefs were fantastic and always happy to help explain a dish for me as were the wait staff. My friend S who came along with me has been to many of the Teppanyaki restaurants in Perth and said Fuku was one of the best she’d been to.

A big thank you to Fuku for inviting me to dine there!

Fuku - Omakase and Teppanyaki on Urbanspoon

One thought on “A night of Firsts – Dinner at Fuku, Mosman Park.

Leave a Reply

