Wine(s) of the Week: University (week 10)

Hi everyone,

When I sat down to write this blog and I wrote the title it came as quite a shock to myself that I have just finished my 10th week of graduate studies. It feels like so much has happened and yet it feels like little to no time has passed. I am sorry that this blog has had to go on the back burner for many weeks and some posts have felt a little rushed. I am slowly getting into the swings of the course and trying to stay on top of the readings, assignments and placement requirements.

Matso's Ginger beer.

Matso’s Ginger beer.

I have had a few cheeky drinks this week while doing my readings as it helped pass the time reading chapter upon chapter and a never ended stream of journal articles. I bought myself my annual 6-pack of ginger beer from Matsos (located and brewed in Broome, Western Australia) and for anyone from Western Australia if not Australia this is such a smooth and creamy ginger beer like no other, if only it was not priced so exorbitantly I would be able to buy it on a more regular basis ($28 for a 6-pack and $95 for a carton at Liquorland). I have also over the past month or so been buying different ciders for dad to try as he has been curious to try and find one which he really likes, currently his all-time favourite is Bulmers. This week I brought him home a 4-pack of Monteith’s Cider from New Zealand, which he found this cider to be very smooth he also found it to not be as ‘gritty’ as Bulmers and missing the final ‘punch’ that comes from this texture in the cider. I am quite a fan of Monteith’s for it’s smoothness and easy-drinking palate.

Monteith's Apple Cider.

Monteith’s Apple Cider.

This weekend I also caught up with some friends for a long overdue catch up for drinks and nibbles. We ended up at Bobeche in the city as I had heard of their teapot cocktails and was very keen to try them. This bar was located right next door to the Trustee, which I visited last week and reviewed here. Beboche had an intimate atmosphere and focused more on spirits and unique cocktails to highlight the spirits.

Jamsheed 2010 'Le Blonk Plonk'.

Jamsheed 2010 ‘Le Blonk Plonk’.

BF and I arrived early so he settled in with a pint of Millers Genuine Draft ($10.5) while I had a glass of Jamsheed 2010 ‘Le Blanc Plonk’, Victoria ($9 a glass). This wine is a blend of Riesling and Gewürtztraminer, and it became quite aromatic and I began to note a palate to the wine as it warmed up. It was a nice crisp wine and impressed me much more than last time I tried Gewürtztraminer. I was impressed with their use of different wine glasses depending upon what wine you ordered, even if they used a chemistry beaker to measure your wine.

Sangria Teapot.

Sangria Teapot.

When the rest of our group arrived we moved on to the cocktails, I shared a teapost of the Sangria with a friend which was fruity and well blended however there was little alcohol in the cocktail, most of it was ice, lemonade and fruit. The cocktails were all well blended and contained interesting combinations, however for the price you paid their size was tiny compared to the size of the cocktails next door at the Trustee. Below is a list of wine and cocktails that people in the group ordered, I heard only postive comments from the group with regards to both their food and wine, except for the portion sizes which was our only complaint.

NV, The Lane ‘Lois’, Blanc de Bland ($10 a glass)

Fraise Sauvage – Beefeater Gin, fresh lemon, house made strawberry cordial, sparkling wine ($19).

Saint Croix Fix – Cruzan Estate Dark 2YO rum, pineapple syrup, fresh lemon ($19).

Cameron’s Kick – Monkey Shoulder whiskey, Jameson’s Irish whiskey, orgeat syrup, fresh lemon ($19).

I personally was more impressed by the range and prices of the Trustee next door, however it was nice to see another new bar in Perth.

Until next time!

Bobeche on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Wine(s) of the Week: University (week 10)

  1. im somewhat concerned that a food and wine writer is surprised to discover wines have specific glassware. as for measuring your serve in a beaker- what would you suggest they use.. what do it by eye? have u ever had a job in hospitality, or been to a wine bar, or a restaurant, or…! ill give u one more chance to impress me, before i unfollow your blog.

    • I am aware of the different types of glassware for wine and have written about it in one of my early posts on this blog. I have more often when dining and drinking out been served wine in standard glasses than in glassware specific to the varietal I have selected. As for the beakers i only felt that they seemed tacky given the vibe of Bobeche, perhaps I did not make that point clear within the post. And it is true I did not suggest an alternative to the beakers instead I simply complained about them.

      I am not a professional food and wine critic nor do I claim to be, this blog is a charting of my developments in the world of food and wine. Sorry if you are not a fan of that style of writing and approach to food and wine and I wish you all the best and have no bad feelings towards you if I were to loose your following. I am more than happy to list some blogs for you that are of a much higher caliber than mine, written by people who have loved and studied wine for a lot longer than I have (possibly longer than I have been alive).

      Happy travels in your journey of food and wine!

Leave a Reply

