The Blue Duck, Cottesloe

Hi everyone,

While the family was in town a few weeks ago we went to The Blue Duck in Cottesloe to celebrate a family member’s birthday. I didn’t manage to get a photo of every single dish we had as there was too many of us but I managed to grab pictures of those around me before they proceeded to polish off their meals.

I got there a few minutes late and the tasting plates had already been partway demolished so I didn’t manage to get any pictures of those but everyone had enjoyed them immensely. I did however arrive in time to attempt to capture a shot of the sunset that night, unfortunately my phone’s camera could not do justice to the sunset that night as it really was spectacular with all the cloud cover that evening.

View of the Sunset from the table.

View of the Sunset from the table.

For mains there was a range of dishes ordered from the menu. Those which I managed to grab a photo of were:

Lamb.

Roasted Marinated Lamb.

Fish and chips.

Tempura Fish and chips.

Mushroom.

Stuffed Field Mushrooms.

Gnocchi.

Pan Seared Gnocchi (Entree sized).

The gnocchi dish was mine and it was delightful! I wish I had ordered the main however at the time I ordered I knew there would be cake so I didn’t want to have too big a portion, however upon trying the gnocchi I could have happily eaten plate-loads of this dish! The gnocchi melted in my mouth and was accompanied by pumpkin puree, roasted tomatoes, sage butter, feta cheese and cashew nuts of which none remained by the end and the flavours worked beautifully together! This is a dish you could safely say that I would happily reorder. I also had a chance to sample some of the lamb and boy was that tender and well cooked. The fish and chips also came with the most amazing sauce (grebiche). The chicken dish off the menu was ordered by some people on the night as well and was also enjoyed by many but I did not manage to grab a photo or taste of it. The portion sizes were also well done and everyone at the table was happy.

And as it was a birthday celebration cake was obviously necessary so we had a cake arranged through The Blue Duck. The supplied us with a carrot cake which was moist and delicious!

Carrot Cake.

Carrot Cake.

I would love to come back here in the summer and sit out on the deck for dinner to see how it is out there. For me the food alone (the gnocchi in particular) is worth heading back for!

Until next time!

The Blue Duck on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

